## **Social Network Mechanisms**

An Oxford University Press Book Series Co-Edited by Ronald S. Burt and Paul Leonardi Series Founders: Ronald S. Burt and Mario Luis Small

This series examines how social networks form, endure, and have consequences for people, groups, organizations, and institutions. The focus on mechanisms signals a fundamental interest in questions of how — including questions about process, about the precise links between cause and effect, about the attainment of equilibria, and about the dynamics behind influence, diffusion, brokerage, formation, dissolution, mobilization, or other network phenomena. Given this interest, the aim is to publish both quantitative and qualitative studies. In service of those aspirations, the book series will include elements of a peer-reviewed journal and a top university research workshop. The Social Network Mechanisms Workshop will bring prominent and emerging researchers anchored on an editorial board (below) to discuss proposed manuscripts in a lively, constructive context intended to to improve the quality of the final products, and foster an international intellectual community. In recent years, research on complexity has brought new skills and perspectives to network problems, but often with limited understanding, from sociological, psychological, or management research, of the social processes at play. The series aims to bring an understanding of social network mechanisms to the fore, in the hopes that the books will help inform, while being stimulated by, the larger community of scholars now doing network-related work.

Gautam Ahuja, Cornell University Steve Barley, UC Santa Barbara

William Barley, University of Illinois H. Russell Bernard, Arizona State University

Richard Benton, University of Illinois Lisa Bernstein, University of Chicago Yanjie Bian, Xi'an Jiaotong University

Claire Bidart, CNRS

Stephen Borgatti, University of Kentucky

Matthew Brashears, University of South Carolina

Ronald Breiger, University of Arizona Gianluca Carnabuci, ESMT Berlin Tiziana Casciaro, University of Toronto Damon Centola, University of Pennsylvania

Nicolas Christakis, Yale University

Noshir Contractor, Northwestern University

Gerald Davis, University of Michigan Julia DiBenigno, Yale University Paul DiMaggio, New York University Martin Everett, University of Manchester

Roberto Fernandez, MIT
Claude Fischer, UC Berkeley
Robert Frank, Cornell University

Diego Gambetta, Collegio Carlo Alberto

Martin Gargiulo, INSEAD Filiz Garip, Princeton University

Robert Gibbons, MIT

Sandra Gonzalez-Bailon, University of Pennsylvania

Sanjeev Goyal, Cambridge University

Michel Grossetti, Toulouse Douglas Guilbeault, Stanford

Ranjay Gulati, Harvard Business School Daniel Halgin, University of Kentucky Keith Hampton, Michigan State University Betina Hollstein, The University of Bremen

Dirk Hovy, Bocconi University
Sarah Jack, Lancaster University
Michael Jensen, University of Michigan

Lisa Keister, Duke University

Martin Kilduff, University College London Brayden King, Northwestern University Marissa King, University of Pennsylvania Adam Kleinbaum, Dartmouth College Jon Kleinberg, Cornell University

Clemens Kroneberg, University of Cologne David Krackhardt, Carnegie Mellon University Emmanuel Lazega, IEPP

David Lazer, Northeastern University

Nan Lin, Duke University

Miranda Lubbers, University of Barcelona

Michael Macy, Cornell University Peter Marsden, Harvard University Daniel McFarland, Stanford University Marya Doerfel, Rutgers University Bill McEvily, University of Toronto Ajay Mehra, University of Kentucky

Cecillia Menjívar, UCLA

Ann Mische, University of Notre Dame Mark Mizruchi, University of Michigan

James Moody, Duke University Jennifer Nelson, University of Illinois

David Obstfeld, UC Fullerton

Siobhan O'Mahony, Boston University Sonja Opper, Bocconi University

Jason Owen-Smith, University of Michigan John Padgett, University of Chicago Bernice Pescosolido, Indiana University Jeffrey Pfeffer, Stanford University Damon Phillips, University of Pennsylvania

Woody Powell, Stanford University

Eric Quintane, ESMT

Hayagreeva Rao, Stanford University Werner Raub, Utrecht University

Ray Reagans, MIT

Oliver Schilke, University of Arizona

Andrew Shipilov, INSEAD

Mario Luis Small, Columbia University
Tom Snijders, Oxford University
Giuseppe Soda, Bocconi University
Sameer Srivastava, UC Berkeley
David Stark, Columbia University
Ross Stolzenberg, University of Chicago
Katherine Stovel, University of Washington

Toby Stuart, UC Berkeley

Stefano Tasselli, University of Exeter Marco Tortoriello, Bocconi University Brian Uzzi, Northwestern University

Tom Valente, University of Southern California Balazs Vedres, Central European University Dashun Wang, Northwestern University

Yuki Yasuda, Kansai University

Ezra Zuckerman, MIT